DIY Slider Casters: Tuesday’s Tutorial

DSC_1053

DSC_1058About a week ago the hubby brought home a new member to the family….a cockatiel. Cute little guy, lots of color, a bit of personality, and, unfortunately, a big mess. Cockatiels are not known for neat and clean. The floor around his cage is full of seed and with my trunk on the floor next to the cage, cleaning up is a challenge, starting first with moving the trunk easily without scratching the floor. DSC_1057

I already bought casters for the furniture but there never seems to be enough so I thought I should make my own. I decided to use scrap wood (plywood or T-one-eleven), craft felt, adhesive, and foam sheets.

DSC_1043

I went to the hubby’s scrap pile and found these pieces of wood. Not too wide. Too long but cut into smaller lengths they might work.

DSC_1044

I trimmed up the wood and smoothed the edges. I don’t want splinters.

DSC_1047I used foam sheets leftover from another project. Color didn’t matter since the casters would be under the trunk. Someone would have to be pretty snoopy to notice.

 

 

 

 

DSC_1050

I cut the foam to the size of the wood by using the wood as a template.

DSC_1051

The foam is thin enough to use paper cutting scissors. It is adhesive backed so applying it to the wood is easy.

DSC_1052

 

 

 

DSC_1054

Now the felt……

DSC_1055

Using the wood again as templates I used a pen to carefully mark my cutting lines then cut the felt strips to size.

DSC_1056

I applied my adhesive (I used Loctite Stik n’Seal No Mess) to the wood and then applied the felt.

 

Voila! The new casters are ready to slide the trunk across my hardwood floor easily.

 

DSC_1053

Now to clean up after my fine, feathered friend. Pets, got to love them.

DSC_1060